Managing Forums: Editing, Copying, Reordering, and Deleting

Editing Forums

As the discussion progresses, editing forum settings may help resolve discussion issues. For example, if students are posting to the wrong topic, fine-tune the forum name or description to clarify the forum’s purpose. If all forums were created at the beginning of the term and made unavailable, any forum can be edited to make it available.

  1. Click the forum’s Action Link to access the contextual menu.
  2. Select Edit.
  3. On the Edit Forum page, edit the forum Name.
  4. Also give the forum a Description.
  5. Edit the Forum Availability.
  6. Edit the Forum Settings.
  7. Click Submit.

Copying Forums

Discussion forums can be copied and added to the current Discussion Board or to a Group Discussion Board in the same course.

  1. Click the forum’s Action Link to access the contextual menu.
  2. Select Copy.
  1. On the Copy Forum page, enter a Name.
  2. Select what to copy; Entire forum or Forum settings only.
  3. Select the Location.
  4. Click Submit.

NOTE: Discussion forums copied to a Group Discussion Board will only include messages authored by the group’s members.

Example: Copy forum settings only

Copy the settings of a forum with research paper instructions because a new forum is needed for another activity with identical settings.

Example: Copy the entire forum

If two distinct topics emerge during a discussion, it is possible to create separate forums for these topics. Copy the forum and then delete the off-topic postings from each forum.

When content is copied, all threads and replies appear in the new location, along with any file attachments.

Changing the Order of Forums

Reorder the forums by pressing the move icon, the double-tipped arrow or handle next to an item, and use the drag-and-drop function to move the forum into place.

Alternatively, use the Keyboard Accessible Reordering Tool on the Action Bar.Highlight the forum title. Use the up and down arrows below the title box to adjust the order and submit.

or alternatively you can use the drag and drop arrows on the left hand side:

 

Deleting Forums

You can delete forums and threads no longer used. When a forum or thread is removed, all content and grades are permanently deleted. For example, delete an ungraded forum used to discuss questions about a completed assignment.

NOTE: Do not delete graded forums or threads unless the grades are no longer needed in the Grade Center.

  1. Select the checkbox next to the item or items to delete.
  2. On the Action Bar, click Delete.