Associating a Rubric

Associated rubrics are visible in the grading and rubrics sections for:

  • Assignments
  • Essay, Short Answer, and File Response test questions
  • Blogs and journals
  • Wikis
  • Discussion board forums and threads

You can also associate a rubric in the Grade Center by selecting Edit Column Information from the column’s contextual menu.

To associate a rubric during the editing or creation process, point to Add Rubric to access the drop-down list and choose one of the options:

  • Select Rubric associates a rubric that you created in the Rubrics area of Course Tools.
  • Create New Rubric opens a pop-up window to allow immediate creation of a new associated rubric.
  • Create From Existing uses a previously created rubric as a template to create a new associated rubric.

When associating a points-based rubric, the option to use the rubric’s points value as the Points Possible are available after clicking Submit on the rubric creation or selection page.

Managing Associated Rubrics

While editing an item with an associated rubric, you can change the rubric’s options.

Below an associated rubric’s name, manage associated rubrics using the icons to Remove Rubric Association, View Rubric, or Edit Rubric.

  • Remove Rubric Association severs the connection to a rubric, but does not delete the rubric itself. If you already used the rubric for grading in this assignment, removing the association also removes those evaluations and the attempts need to be regraded.
  • View Rubric opens a preview that you cannot edit, with a link to view associated items and print the rubric.
  • Edit Rubric opens the associated rubric to allow for immediate editing. If you already used the rubric for grading, you cannot edit it.

For the Type, you can designate a rubric as Used for Grading or Used for Secondary Evaluation. If you associate multiple rubrics, you can use only one as the primary grading rubric, designated as Used for Grading.

Show Rubric to Students offers four options for rubric visibility:

  • No does not allow students to view the rubric at any time.
  • Yes (With Rubric Scores) allows students to view the rubric when you make the item available, including possible point or percentage values.
  • Yes (Without Rubric Scores) allows students to view the rubric when you make the item available, but does not include the possible point or percentage values.
  • After Grading allows students to view the rubric only after you have completed grading their submissions.