Removing a Co-Instructor

Blackboard automatically prevents you from accidentally removing co-instructors, displaying the following error message in red when you attempt to do so: “Cannot remove Instructor users from course. Only System Administrator users can remove Instructor users.”

However, there is a work-around: “demote” the co-instructor to a student and then manually remove him or her from your course.

  1. On your course’s Course Management area, under Users and Groups, click Users.
  2. Hover your mouse over the username of the instructor you wish to remove and then click the button with the downward facing chevron.
  3. Click Change User’s Role in Course.
  4. Click Student.
  5. Click Submit.
  6. On the Users list, select the co-instructor and then click Remove Users from Course.

Please note that Blackboard’s user data including instructor assignments comes directly from USC’s Student Information System (SIS). If the co-instructor is still assigned to teach the course in SIS, he or she will automatically be re-enrolled in your course within an hour or two. To prevent this from happening, please contact your department’s course scheduling coordinator and request that the coordinator remove the co-instructor in SIS. Once this happens, you can repeat steps 1 through 5 to permanently remove the co-instructor from your course.